SGA candidates campaign, take questions at weekly meeting

Candidates for class presidents took the podium to make campaign speeches and answer questions from audience members during the regular meeting of the Student Government Association on March 11.

Videos of candidates’ speeches can be watched below, courtesy of Amber Perrell, assistant dean of students.

Elec Atkinson, David Barnes and Alli Rybak are competing to be senior class president, who leads the Senior Year Experience committee ex officio. Campbell Corder and Dylan Evans are vying  for junior class president. Crockett Sewell is running for sophomore class president. Jenny Hua is also running to lead the sophomore class, but did not present at the meeting.

Perrell emailed a link to the online ballot – unique for each student – for class president and SGA executive officer elections to all students. Voting will continue through 11:59 p.m. on March 16.

Those running unopposed include senior Kristin Diemer for executive president, junior Miosha Johnson for executive vice president and freshman Emma Spittel for executive treasurer. Freshmen Mackenzie Newell and Witz Romero-Carrizales are facing off for executive secretary.

Class representatives and a commuter representative will be elected on March 19.

Questions and inquiries for further information can be sent to Perrell at

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Published by students of Queens University of Charlotte, 1900 Selwyn Avenue, Charlotte, N.C. 28274.